Monday, 5 December 2011

The Nine Planets

The nine planets are:

  • Mercury
  • Venus
  • Earth
  • Mars
  • Jupiter
  • Saturn
  • Uranus
  • Neptune
  • Pluto

The Solar System

The Solar System consists of :

  • Nine planets
  • The Sun
  • Natural satellites
  • Meteors
  • Comets
  • Asteroids

Plants Protect Themselves

1.Plants have special characteristics to protect themselves from their enemies.

  • Thorns: Rose, cactus
  • Latex: Rubber tree, jackfruit tree
  • Fine hairs that cause itchiness: Bamboo, lady's finger
  • Closing thier leaflets when touched: Mimosa
  • Being poisonous: Tobacco, yam

Animals Protect Themselves

1.Animals that live in places with extreme weather conditions have specific characteristics and behaviour to survive.

  • Thick layer of fat: Walrus,whale
  • Thick layer of fur: Polar bear,penguin
  • Humps and thick padded knees: Camel
  • Wallowing in mud holes: Hippopotamus,crocodile
  • Vast skin surface: Elephant,rhinoceros

Special characteristics of animals

1.Animals have special characteristics and behaviour that protect them from danger.

  • Bad smell: Skunk,bed bugs
  • Hard shell/hard scales: Tortoise,pangolin
  • Poisonous sting/bite: Bee,scorpion,snake
  • Spines: Porcupine
  • Hard hoofs: Horse
  • Sharp horns: Buffalo,goat